In Which I Wear Red

Look! An item of clothing that’s not black, gray, or purple!

I freaking LOVE this dress. It’s the ruffle sleeve cotton dress from eShakti, and I love everything about it. The color? Perfect. The fit? Perfect. The length? Perfect. I love it so much that the first thing I did after I tried it on was order another one just like it in black. One of these days, I’ll write a post about how much I love eShakti and why. In the meantime, just know that I really, really love eShakti.

It’s a pretty red red, so to calm it down for work, I reverted to type and wore it with a dark gray cardigan.

Cardigan is from Old Navy, tights are from Target, and shoes are the ever-present Born Mary Janes. The necklace is a pendant I found on clearance at Michaels.

It’s one of three that came in a set. The other two say “AT 26, FAST LIFE AND DISSIPATION” and “AT 40, AN OUTCAST”. For more details, check out this blog post at Penny Dreadful Vintage.

I decided to keep with the grayish theme for my eye makeup.

Eyeshadow is Heist by Urban Decay. It’s a matte mauvey-taupe, but it looks more like a straight taupe on me. It’s very versatile and I love it. Eyeliner is Stray Dog, also by Urban Decay and available exclusively in the 15th anniversary 24/7 eyeliner set. It’s a shimmery, grayish/silvery taupe. I mentioned in an earlier post that it’s almost a duochrome, and the above photo shows this aspect of it pretty well; it’s definitely taupey-brown when seen from an angle, but head on, the shimmery grayish-silver aspect dominates. Very interesting, and very pretty. Incidentally, Urban Decay’s eyeliners are called “24/7” for a reason–these photos were taken about 9 1/2 hours after I applied my makeup. Not bad, eh?

And finally … silly pictures. Watch out, I’m SMILING in some of them!

Aaaaaand a WTF picture.

I did NOT do this on purpose. I opened up this photo in Photoshop and then went to eat dinner, and when I came back and woke my laptop up … I found this. Not only is it negative, but I am apparently throwing up gang signs. Represent!

Published in: on January 13, 2011 at 6:09 pm  Comments (13)  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://princessfats.wordpress.com/2011/01/13/in-which-i-wear-red/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

13 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Word! That dress is LOVELY! And again, you’re oh-so-timely, as I JUST got a package from eShakti myself this evening. That dress looks amazing on you – I love the color.

    • Oooh, sweet! What’d you get? And thanks! 😀

      • PS I LOVE that necklace. If you ever see any pendant thingies like that, I would be more than happy to pay you back…I’m really big on pendants right now!

  2. Bout time I see some red on you, my lady! 🙂

    • Yeah, thought you’d like that! 😛

  3. Beee-yoo-ti-ful dress! Love the color on you. And it seems our favorite colors are the same…lol

    • Why thank you! And uh, great minds think alike. I believe I’ve said that about you before. O.o

      • Haha, ’tis true…and guess what!?? My 24/7 set should be here this week 😉

        • Yaaaaaaay! I’m so glad you were able to order it! 🙂

  4. I think I have those lady pendants! 😀 I looooooove that dress! Damn right you ordered a second in black. It is phenomenal!

  5. OMG I WENT TO THAT SITE… Customization!? Ballin!!

    • I know, huh? Pretty amazing! I haven’t had anything customized yet–haven’t needed to, because their stuff fits me so well! They sell their ready-to-wear stuff by height as well as size, which takes care of a lot of the “way too long” clothing problems I typically have. If you get something customized, I’d love to hear what you think!


Leave a Reply

