Like A Rhinestone Cowgirl

I felt like wearing really pale eye makeup today. And wouldn’t you know? Urban Decay, in their infinite wisdom, included a super-pale shade in the 15th anniversary 24/7 eyeliner set, which I am nowhere NEAR done playing with yet.

Behold … Midnight Cowboy!

(Photos were taken in indirect natural light, direct sun, and with the flash, respectively.)

You may know Midnight Cowboy as Urban Decay’s notorious glitterbomb of an eyeshadow. Their website claims that it’s their best seller, which I find hard to believe, considering how many complaints I’ve read online about the shade’s masses of chunky glitter and endless fallout. My patience for glitter decreases more and more with each passing year, so I’ve never even considered purchasing Midnight Cowboy in eyeshadow form.

However.

The eyeliner version is GORGEOUS, and right up my alley. It’s a pale, warm, peachy champagne color. It’s got some sparkle to it, but it’s not overwhelming. And I didn’t have to wipe glitter off my face once during the day, which is more than I can say for some of UD’s other glittery liners (*cough*Crash*cough*). I was so impressed, in fact, that I may or may not have purchased the 24/7 shadow pencil in Midnight Cowboy today. (Also, in Sin. Also, Urban Decay Primer Potion in Sin. What? I’m going through a champagne phase! And we’ve already established that I have no self control!)

In keeping with the pale theme, I wore Midnight Cowboy with Sellout eyeshadow (touted on the UD website as “Midnight Cowboy without the glitter”), just a bit of Toasted eyeshadow in the crease, and DiorShow mascara.

Click this next one to embiggen.

Unfortunately, none of my full-face shots came out very well. They never do when I take them at the end of the day! But this next one gives some indication of why I like this kind of look–it brightens up my eyes in a very subtle way.

So, yes. Midnight Cowboy 24/7 eyeliner is YET ANOTHER of my new favorite things. (Interesting how very many “new favorite things” I have acquired since purchasing the 24/7 set. Hmmm … I wonder if there’s a connection … )

To conclude, here is my “WTF?” photo of the day. I don’t know what happened here. But it was weird.

Published in: on January 12, 2011 at 5:18 pm  Comments (5)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://princessfats.wordpress.com/2011/01/12/like-a-rhinestone-cowgirl/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Very interesting! I like the look, too! I have a feeling that that eyeliner is going to be used in the corners for me, or on the lower lash line. And it’s true, Midnight Cowboy eyeshadow has MEGA glitter!

    • I think it would be outstanding in the inner corners!

  2. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by E. E said: RT @laprincessfats: New post! Me + Midnight Cowboy 24/7 eyeliner = true ❤ 4ever!! https://princessfats.wordpress.com/2011/01/12/like- … […]

  3. Whoa, yes! It’s like “your naked eyelids but better”. Heavenly. I can’t wait for my set to show up. (Hopefully today, ahem.) But now you’re making me want the shadow pencil and Sellout, too. 😛

    • Sweet! The shadow pencil is pretty good if you like MASSES of glitter. Very minimal fallout, which is really nice. I think I like the eyeliner version better, really! Can’t wait to hear what you think of the set!


Leave a Reply

