Welcome To My Bawdy Lair

BAD PUN! BAD PUN!

Since I finished all my Christmas knitting, I’ve started a few new projects. Including Cookie A’s Baudelaire socks.

Check out how the gusset and heel flap stitches flow into the cable. Fancy! That’s why Cookie A is a sock designer and I’m not.

These are toe-up socks. I usually prefer top-down, but these have been pretty fun. I do like the idea that you can make them as tall as possible until you run out of yarn.

With flash:

The yarn I’m using is Louet Gems fingering weight in French Blue. From, of course, the Loopy Ewe. It’s been really fun to work with–very spongy and bouncy and squishy. Love it. Need more.

Check out the blurry cat in this one.

I cannot recommend Cookie A’s sock patterns highly enough. I have her book “Sock Innovations,” and I just got “Knit. Sock. Love.” in the mail this past week too. It’s going to keep me very busy for a very long time. Once I’m done with the Baudelaires, I’m going to embark on a truly complicated pattern: Lissajous (the shorter sock version, not the taller stocking version–although, how incredible are those?). They’re for my mom; I told her to expect them in, oh, June or so. If she’s lucky.

Published in: on December 11, 2010 at 11:40 am  Comments (4)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://princessfats.wordpress.com/2010/12/11/welcome-to-my-bawdy-lair/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Very, very pretty sockies! Yes, the segue from the heel to the cable IS pretty impressive! Why are the Lissajous so much more complicated…is it all that fussy bit at the top? The majority of the sock doesn’t look more complicated than your Baudelaire pattern, but I am looking with a non-knitting eye!

    • It involves more charts (four, to be exact), and you have to knit more than one at a time–the background is one chart, the fancy bit is another, etc.

  2. What fun socks! I am so impressed by your knitting! Looks like so much fun!

    • Thanks! It really is fun. Most of the time. 😉


Leave a Reply

