Eff Oh! Eff Oh!

Finally, it’s a finished object (FO)! As opposed to an unfinished object, or UFO. Get it?

Geeky knitting humor aside, here she is!

What we have here is a longer, narrower version of the Upstairs Shawl. The lace pattern takes up 11 stitches (plus three at either end for the small garter stitch border) and is worked over 32 rows. Rather than casting on 105 stitches and doing nine repeats of the lace pattern, I cast on 83 stitches and did seven repeats. And instead of working the 32 pattern rows 10 times, I did them more like 20 times.

I like this type of lace pattern for scarves because it’s the same right side up and upside down. Compare it to, say, the tiger eye pattern in these socks, which has a definite “this side up” aspect to it.

For this scarf, I used two skeins ofย Knit Picks Shadow lace yarn in Vineyard Heather–love this yarn, and love the color–and 3 mm bamboo needles (US size 4). Here I am photo-stylisting it onto the swing in the courtyard behind our apartment. You’ll notice that I am still apparently unable to move on from black, gray, and purple clothes.

And here it is on. (Floor-length corduroy skirt is from Shukr, in case anyone’s wondering. And I have a tank top under the cardigan–those aren’t bra straps.)

Additionally, let me just say HOORAY FOR HATS. They’re making the growing out of my pixie cut ever so much more bearable.

Published in: on December 4, 2010 at 1:31 pm  Comments (11)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://princessfats.wordpress.com/2010/12/04/eff-oh-eff-oh/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

11 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. WOW you made that scarf! I am totally impressed! It’s beautiful, love the color and Lacey looking pattern. You could sell those & make lots of money! LOL Hmm maybe I can be your first client! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by E and Cid, Principessa Grassa. Principessa Grassa said: New post! I finished a knitting project! It's purple! https://princessfats.wordpress.com/2010/12/04/eff-oh-eff-oh/ […]

  3. Very pretty! And I think your socks are very cool also, but I don’t see how they have a definite right side up aspect…..maybe I’d have to handle them. Isn’t it nice to have this project finished…….I love it when I get something that has been on my mind finished so I can quit thinking about it. Not to mention USE it!

    • It is REALLY nice to have it done … I feel like I’ve been working on this one forever! I’ll explain about the socks later ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. It’s really nice you’re really good with needles ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thanks! This pattern is a lot simpler than it looks!

  5. You’re such a pro!! Those socks are beautiful

  6. nice. Gotta try lace sometime. You make it look easy.
    FO FO FO FO!

    • It is easy! Well, it CAN be easy ๐Ÿ™‚ I think you would love it!

  7. […] the outfit isn’t all that spectacular. Dress you’ve seen before, scarf you’ve seen before, generic Old Navy t-shirt, uninspired Gap cardigan. What I really wanted to show you is […]


Leave a Reply

