We Are Your Overlords

First things first: I am apparently the highly suggestible type. Once again, a cosmetic shade name has triggered a chain reaction in my brain, with the end result that I’ve spent a whole day singing quietly under my breath and thinking “OK, I need to get that song out of my head. Where did it even come from in the first pl–oh, RIGHT.” This happened a couple of days ago with an eyeliner name and a song from “The Labyrinth,” and it happened again this weekend with an eyeshadow and a Led Zeppelin song.

So, to what eyeshadow do we owe the pleasure of this unscheduled musical interlude? Why, Fyrinnae Valhalla, of course!

I love Valhalla. It’s sort of a silvery lilac with a definite pink tone. It’s really pretty and sparkly yet subtle and somehow festive-looking, like powdered sugarplum fairy in a jar. I used it as my lid color here. To bring out Valhalla’s purpley tones, I used Ravens and Writing Desks (a very saturated, matte, lilac-y purple) as my crease color. I used the shimmery and beautifulย Moon Child to highlight; I hadn’t used this color before, and I think it’ll be a versatile addition to my collection.

Let me issue my usual slew of Fyrinnae-related disclaimers: These shades are all much, much prettier in real life than they look in these photos. Fyrinnae eyeshadows are flawless, and my camera is awesome, but my photo-taking abilities are nowhere near good enough to capturing the subtleties here. I barely managed to document the sparkle of Valhalla or Moon Child, an impressive feat of photographerial incompetence considering that they’re so sparkly (Valhalla in particular) that I ended up with sparkles all over my face, including my forehead and nose.

With flash:

This next one shows shadows’ colors and opacity more accurately.

Product breakdown:

  • UDPP
  • Fyrinnae Valhalla all over lids
  • Fyrinnae Ravens and Writing Desks in crease and under lower lashes
  • Fyrinnae Moon Child to highlight
  • Urban Decay 24/7 liner in Zero on waterline
  • DiorShow mascara over Urban Decay lash primer
  • Urban Decay lip gloss in Love Junkie

To conclude in the immortal words of Robert Plant: The hammer of the gods will drive our ships to new lands,ย to fight the hordes, sing and cry, Valhalla, I am coming! AH AAAAAAAAAAAAHHH, AH! AH AAAAAAAAAAH, AH!

ETA: If you like kittens, Vikings, and Led Zeppelin, you’re going to want to check this out. Thanks to spinster-in-training for bringing it to my attention!

Published in: on November 7, 2010 at 10:18 am  Comments (6)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://princessfats.wordpress.com/2010/11/07/we-are-your-overlords/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Great…now your going to have me singing that all day! I was having the same problem with the colors from Hi-Fi’s Nightmare 2010 collection. Most of them are the name of Rob Zombie songs and I’m a HUGE Zombie fan!

    Very pretty Fyrinnae look! It’s always so hard to capture all of the Fyrinnae goodness in pictures!

    • Oh, that just compounds the problem, when people name shades after songs ON PURPOSE. Hi-Fi is the master of that!

      Yeah, Fyrinnae is impossible to capture in photos. I feel so bad for whoever has to take the product photos for the site!

  2. I love this look! You do pinky-purples so damn good! And if you haven’t seen this yet, I think you should (it’s what’s stuck in my head now, I love it): http://www.dennyweb.com/viking_kittens.htm

    And, um, I gave you a blog award. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I had NOT seen that, and now I must add it. And thank you so much for the blog award!!! ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ So sweet!

  3. I’m dying over the kittens. Oh, and purdy makeup, too. Those shades look AMAZING on you.

    • Thanks! I pretty much always default to purple/pink when I don’t know what to wear.

      And oh yes … the kittens. ๐Ÿ™‚


Leave a Reply

