Fully Clothed And Partially Socked

Is there a word for “with socks on”? You know, like clothed, shod … socked? Bestockinged?

Part two of my outfit of the day series! Once again, this ensemble is not too freaking exciting, but it’s a fairly typical workday outfit for me. I wear a lot of REALLY long skirts and t-shirts (nice ones! Not like the giant Sisters of Mercy t-shirts I wore in high school). I’d love to have some nice button-down shirts for work, but cursory research indicates that there is no such thing as a woven shirt that fits both my boobs and my waist. If it fits around the chestal region, it sags at the waist, and if it fits at the waist, there’s no way in hell I’m getting the top buttons done up. So t-shirts it is. (The skirt doesn’t seem quite so long when I’m walking around, I promise.)

Mister Principessa and I are still fiddling with my camera, so these photos are a little experimental. In the one above, he stood way back and zoomed in on me. In the next one, he stood closer and didn’t zoom at all.

Help! Help! I’m sinking into the ground!

T-shirt and tank top are from Old Navy. The skirt is from Shukr, a site I HIGHLY recommend if you’re into floor-length skirts like I am. It’s actually an Islamic clothing site, so you can find hijabs and things there too. Their clothing is very high quality, and their skirts fit me really well (aside from the length issue–but then, everything is long on me).

I’m not wearing shoes in this picture, but you couldn’t see them even if I were, now, could you? I am going to go ahead and admit here that I wore flip-flops with this outfit. Hey, it’s southern California, we’re a casual office, and it was 92 goddamn degrees today.

That takes care of the clothes. On to the socks! You’ll be ever so excited to hear that I’ve been knitting like a fiend lately. Unfortunately, I can’t show you any of the many projects I’ve finished because they’re all going to be Christmas presents for people who read this blog on a semi-regular basis.  So you can expect a BIG knitting post around 26 December. In the meantime, here’s a single partly finished sock to tide you over!

Flash

No flash

The yarn is Dream in Color Smooshy with Cashmere in Rock the Olive. Oooooh, this yarn is nice. So soft. In fact, I think it might be a little too soft for socks. This is a personal preference; I like my socks to be fairly sturdy, and this yarn is a bit on the shiny, slippery side for me. I have another skein of it, which I think might end up as a scarf instead of socks.

Oh, and I did cast on that pair of Twinkleberry socks in the Black Bunny yarn, but they have since been frogged. The yarn was just wrong for the pattern; it needs to be knit using smaller needles than I usually use for socks, which is all fine and good but means I’d need to increase the stitch count to make the socks a wearable size. So, back to the drawing board!

Published in: on November 3, 2010 at 6:12 pm  Comments (12)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://princessfats.wordpress.com/2010/11/03/fully-clothed-and-partially-socked/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

12 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. OH GOD finally someone who understands the conundrum of button-down shirts! I can never wear them because I feel like I can’t move my arms, and they always seem too short.

    • They’re just horrible! It’s somewhat better if they have some stretch to them, but generally speaking, no thanks!

  2. How nice that your nail polish matches your socks! Color coordination forever! 🙂

    • I have Matchy-Matchy problems 😛

  3. What Not to Wear recommends buying button downs to fit The Girls and then getting the waist tailored so that it fits appropriately… Then again, who has the money to regularly employ a tailor?

    I dreamed about yard last night, and making socks, and I’ve never even MADE socks. Thanks a lot.

    • Well, there’s no time like the present!

      That is actually a good suggestion about the tailor, although you’re right … not something I’d prioritize, finances-wise!

  4. I always get that gap right around the boobs, between buttons. It’s real flattering, you know. Ugh. No button-downs for me, either.

    I have been eyeing Shukr for about a year now, and this clinches it – I have *got* to order from them. That skirt is incredible!

    And yay for pretty, comfy socks!

    • I LOVE Shukr! Their stuff is just gorgeous. I’d love to see what you get if/when you order from them! 🙂

  5. […] Revlon Matte Suede in Powder Puff (I also have this in Emerald City, which you may have noticed on my toes […]

  6. I love that skirt too! I’ll have to check them out. (Bad influence, AGAIN.) Also, in regard to tailoring, I have the same issue (of course!) with button-down shirts. I also have an issue with jackets – because I have large limbs (OK, chubby arms), if a jacket fits me in the arm/shoulder, it is too big in the body. Perfect example: the cool gray Old Navy coat that I just got in the mail that is snug but not horrible in the arms/shoulders and boxy/too big in the body! A perfect example of employing a tailor – I’m hoping my fantastic Russian lady can make it more fitted and, well, tailored in the body.

    • Guh. I hear ya. My arms are fairly proportional, but I have broad shoulders, and jackets tend to pull across them and make me feel slightly immobile. Stupid clothes. It’s (almost) enough to make a person want to learn to sew.

  7. […] still working on them, except that the ruffle scarf and socks have been finished and there’s a new pair of socks in the works. I want to finish them STAT because I have already selected my next scarf […]


Leave a Reply

