Cutest. Lip Balm. Ever.

Or, “My Initial Adventures in the Makeup Section of the Japanese Market.”

First, I must confess that I’m not generally a fan of “haul posts,” AKA “Let me show you these things I bought!” Well, that’s not entirely true. I don’t mind them at all if the products are unique or interesting or things I don’t have ready access to.

For instance, I am totally intrigued by other countries’ drugstore makeup. Eyeko might be the UK equivalent of Cover Girl, but I’ll happily look at pictures of the same Eyeko products three times in one week because the packaging is cute and I’m not visually assaulted by Eyeko displays every time I set foot in a Rite Aid.

On the other hand, I don’t care at all about seeing pictures of products from major US-based (or global) brands. If it’s something that I see all the time in the drugstore or at the mall, I just don’t care about seeing pictures of it online as well.

I could go on. Let’s just say I have opinions about haul posts, and there are reasons I haven’t done one yet. However, I bought something today that I haven’t seen anywhere else, and I figure that if I find it interesting, then you might too. So technically, I guess this is my first haul post. Although does it count as a “haul,” really, if it’s only one thing?

Behold! The cuteness!

I got this in the cosmetics section at Marukai, our local Japanese market. I haven’t spent much time in their cosmetics section because there is something of a “language barrier” issue. I don’t want to purchase something that looks like harmless lip gloss but turns out to be a “lip plumper” chock-full of capsaicin, peppermint oil, and sadism.

Anyway. Apple-flavored lip balm! In an apple!Β They also had a pear and a lemon. I went with the apple after a fairly extensive “pear vs. apple” debate. Mister Principessa cast the deciding vote, also known as the “whatever will get us out of the damn makeup section and on to the kamaboko and sake sections” vote. The lip balm is actually pretty nice, which was a happy surprise.

Oh, and speaking of the Mister, we’ve moved up in the world.

Yeah, that’s right. We’ve upgraded to the 20-pound bag of rice.

As a white girl with white parents, I don’t think that, growing up, I ever saw anything bigger than a 5-pound bag of rice. Actually, come to think of it, the rice I remember seeing most frequently in our cupboard came in a red box that had the word “Rice” on it, and also the word “Minute.”

Apparently, when you take up with a Japanese guy, the rice bags get bigger. We bought this on the recommendation (or rather, insistence) of the cashier at Marukai, who leaned forward and had a surreptitious conversation about it in Japanese with the Mister. This conversation was a bit one-sided, considering that he doesn’t actually speak Japanese, but somehow the point was made that the 20-pound bag was only a dollar more than the 10-pound bag. That did actually sound like a damn good deal, so now we have a bag of rice the size of a toddler under the kitchen table.

So there you have it. Fun times at Marukai. I might post about our dinner tomorrow if I continue to have good luck with the Bastard Camera. Oh, and the Mister has promised me unfettered, unhurried access to the Marukai cosmetics section for my birthday in a couple of weeks. Stay tuned!

Published in: on October 16, 2010 at 9:31 pm  Comments (14)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://princessfats.wordpress.com/2010/10/16/cutest-lip-balm-ever/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

14 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. The lip balm is so cute πŸ˜€

    • I thought so too! πŸ™‚ I want the pear one as well!

  2. That lip balm is awesome! I’ll be interested to see what else you find in the cosmetics section for your birthday!

    And thats a crazy big bag of rice! I don’t remember the last time I cooked rice. You guys must eat it fairly often!

    • Yep … Mister Principessa eats insane amounts of it!

      • ummm… yea, my own experience confirms this: an asian bf can eat HUGE amounts of rice. purchasing a large bag is often discussed but then I have the finishing argument – “and where are we going to keep it, eh?”
        Am more into pasta myself… πŸ™‚
        as an Estonian I should be into potatoes bigtime but after eating potatoes for the first 15 years of my life almost daily, I had it. Weird that the bf has not gotten the same reaction to rice.

        • Ha ha! Yes, the rice thing is really funny–and you really do need to think about where you’re going to keep a bag that big! It’s like buying another pet or something. πŸ™‚ It’s a commitment! The Mr. never seems to get sick of rice either. I don’t blame you for being over potatoes at this point!

  3. That balm is awesome! Out of the 3 Asian grocery stores in my town, none of them have makeup 😦

    • Oh, boooo! 😦 Marukai has a pretty good selection of makeup and beauty stuff … fun!

  4. There’s a large-ish Asian market nearby, but their cosmetic section is teeny. 😦 I’m a sucker for foreign products. And I’m amazed at how few of our friends shop at the various ethnic grocers out here – they have some crazy good deals. (Like, several ounces of saffron for $5, or a couple sprigs at the Teet for $14? No contest.)

    • I totally agree!! It’s so much cheaper to buy something like cardamom pods at an Indian grocer than at Ralphs.

  5. I can’t wait to see the apple lip balm and Japanese supermarket…in PERSON! WAHAHAHAHAHA!!!

    • Oh, we’re going there. You haven’t lived until you’ve seen Gardena.

  6. Also can’t wait to see your non-Japanese-speaking Japanese boyfriend. Hi Mister!

  7. Moh that apple lip balm is too cute!!


Leave a Reply

