Urban Flapper

I don’t know why, but I’m into flappers right now. I know, I know. This makes me sound like a five-year-old. Why? Why flappers? Why not unicorns or mermaids or fire trucks or construction workers? I don’t know, okay? All I know is that I have lately felt a burning need for a short bob, a long string of beads, and a cloche hat! Or two!

Being that I am also obsessed with makeup, it was only a matter of time before these two worlds collided. Luckily, flappers weren’t averse to makeup themselves.

About that: In the course of my flapper research (what?), I have noted that there is some controversy about what constitutes “authentic” flapper makeup. The general consensus is that they made do with what they could get their hands on, which is to say … not much. Kohl and rouge and powder, basically. Some people say that the eyes were generally worn very dark; some other people say that those people are idiots. But I’ll tell ya, pretty much all the photos I’ve found point in a Dark Eyes direction. I’m thinking in particular about Clara Bow here.

So I went for it. Urban Decay to the rescue. Here’s a better look at the makeup, unobscured by the hat.

DISCLAIMER! I do not claim that this is in any way “authentic” flapper makeup. It’s flapper-inspired, but I wasn’t going for authenticity here. Just having fun.

The goods! Incidentally, feel free to point people over here when they say that the Naked palette is good only for boring neutral looks.

  • UDPP
  • Urban Decay Creep on lids
  • Urban Decay Gunmetal above Creep to blend
  • Urban Decay 24/7 eyeliner in Zero on upper lids and lower lashline, smudged all to hell and gone
  • Christian Dior DiorShow on upper and lower lashes
  • TKB Trading pigment in Deep Russet blended with clear gloss on lips

A better look at the star of the show!

And finally, a silly face with alternative hat and lips (my beloved UD Love Junkie) because dammit, I don’t make enough silly faces on this blog.

Published in: on October 7, 2010 at 7:26 am  Comments (8)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://princessfats.wordpress.com/2010/10/07/urban-flapper/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I love it!! I also love flappers – but they’re awesome, so what’s not to love? Clara Bow is the bomb.

  2. You pull off the flapper look so well! I agree with you, I tend to think of flappers as having a dark eye. What a fun look!

  3. You DO pull off flapper well! It really suits you and I love it. Very cool look. I also LOVE that hat. I think I want to be you when I grow up, because I’ve officially put that hat on my wish list for xmas. Is that bad? Should I get my own personality?

  4. Thanks ladies! 🙂

  5. I think you quite resemble Clara Bow in that picture, actually… Maybe you’re a flapper reincarnate! I think it’s a fab look on you!

    • Awwww, thanks! 🙂 Makes me want to cut my hair again …

  6. […] makeup. This may or may not be somewhat reminiscent of flapper makeup, depending on whom you ask. Proceed at […]


Leave a Reply

