A Journey into My Knitting Basket

I sat down to knit the other night, and as balls of yarn and errant needles tumbled out of my knitting basket onto my lap, I thought to myself, hmmmm … I should probably finish some of this stuff up. (That wasn’t my first thought, though. My first thought was “Crap, I need a bigger knitting basket. Or maybe just a second one.”) Here’s the basket in question.

(Let’s pretend that’s not another basket full to overflowing with yarn in the background. Let’s further pretend that that particular basket isn’t one of three.)

So what IS all that crap in there? Well, it falls into two basic categories: projects and … doodads. Gizmos. The little things that knitters have to haul around in order to make knitting and finishing projects easier and more pleasant.

First up: the projects! Here’s what I’m currently working on. I’ve posted about a couple of these before, so they might look familiar. And yes, they’re all for me. There’s a reason I’m in the Selfish Knitters group on Ravelry, people.

A pair of socks (no pattern, just my standard plain sock; yarn, Trekking Maxima in the charmingly named color 903):

A shawl (pattern: Pi Shawl by Elizabeth Zimmermann; yarn, Dream in Color Baby in Gothic Rose):

A scarf (pattern: slightly altered [narrower] version of the Upstairs shawl; yarn: Knit Picks Shadow in Vineyard Heather):

Another scarf (pattern: slightly altered [wider] version of Dainty Bess by JoLene M. Treace; yarn: Grignasco MerinoSilk in black):

A side note about this one: It is taking FOREVER to knit, because the yarn looks like this:

Yeah. That barely deserves the title “yarn.” That’s more like “thread.” It’s actually quite nice to work with, and the scarf is going to be extremely lightweight and delicate and probably totally worth the effort. But it does take more time to complete a project when you’re constructing it out of a material the approximate diameter of dental floss.

Also, I did go ahead and start the Just Enough Ruffles scarf, for which I’m using my beloved Malabrigo in worsted weight; color is Natural.

Oh, and there may be a Special Super Secret project going on too, which I think I’m going to just roll over into the “Christmas gifts” category.

And then there are these:

OK, OK, so these aren’t projects, per se. But I really really want them to be! That second one especially, which is the same yarn I used for my mom’s socks and happens to go very nicely with one of the hats I bought on vacation!

So that takes care of the projects part. On to the doodads!

What have we here? Well, in the photo, I spy the following:

  • Yarn labels
  • A needle gauge
  • A pair of scissors
  • A crochet hook
  • Eight (8) pens and highlighters (what?)
  • Rustproof pins
  • Stitch markers
  • A tape measure
  • Various notepads and Post-It notes
  • A scrap of paper with my shawl row count on it
  • My “Little Knitting Book” of handy information from the Loopy Ewe

Other things I can’t see but know are in there:

  • End stopper things for my interchangeable circular needles
  • Yarn needle
  • Yarn scraps
  • Wite-Out
  • Beads I intended to use on a project that’s now in Project Jail in my closet

Knitting requires a lot of crap. The yarn and needles are just the beginning.

Anyway, my goal here is to finish a few of these bad boys up. Christmas is on the way, and there are a few people in my life who get handknit gifts from me every year. I’m starting to plan those gifts, so I need to free up some needles and basket space for the Christmas knitting.

Then again, one can always buy more needles and baskets …

Published in: on October 1, 2010 at 6:30 pm  Comments (7)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://princessfats.wordpress.com/2010/10/01/a-journey-into-my-knitting-basket/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. The Pi Shawl – oh, oh, oh, the colors!!! Me like!

    • Yeah, that yarn is gorgeous! Hint: It also comes in sock yarn format! Dream in Color Smooshy, look it up!

  2. And the black one will be stunning when it is finished!

    • Yes it will! It’s actually been a lot of fun to knit, it just takes a thousand years to get anywhere!

  3. […] of the yarn basket, there’s a project lurking in there that I forgot to mention in my project roundup the other […]

  4. […] I plan to finish up the projects that were sidelined in favor of the Christmas knitting. Remember those guys? Yep, still working on them, except that the ruffle scarf and socks have been finished and […]

  5. I just like the valuable info you supply in your articles.
    I will bookmark your weblog and test again here frequently.
    I’m slightly certain I will be informed many new
    stuff proper here! Good luck for the following!


Leave a Reply

