Drugstore Cowgirl

It is my extreme good fortune to live about two and a half blocks from a Rite Aid. They have excellent and frequent sales, including regular occurrences of that Holy Grail of sales, the Buy One, Get One free (or half off). Tonight, I took advantage of the current BOGO 1/2 off to pick up two new Prestige eyeliners.

But even more exciting are my two brush purchases. As you might have read the other day, I’m currently on the hunt for decent cheap-ass eyeshadow brushes. So I picked up a Studio Basics “retractable” eye shading & detailer brush, as well as another one from Maybelline. (Incidentally, I put “retractable” in quotes because it’s not actually retractable–there are little hollow pieces that pop out of the handle to cover up the brush heads. NOT RETRACTABLE. They should call it a “cover-up-able eye shading & detailer brush,” because words mean things. </pedant>) The Maybelline one was 40% off, bonus! I’m going to try them out over the next couple of days, and if they work OK, they’ll accompany me on vacation.

In further brush update news, based on recommendations from Heather and Galen, I also ordered four e.l.f. brushes online today: the contour and concealer brushes from their Studio line (I thought the concealer one might work well as an eye shader … I guess we’ll find out!), and their regular eyeshadow and blending brushes. One of these days, when I’m not making a half-assed attempt to curb my spending because of an upcoming vacation, I also plan to try out the GOSH and Sigma brushes (the latter also recommended by Galen).

And to finish out the Rite Aid angle, here’s my current nail polish. CQ Petites Color Fever in Vintage Gray.

The second picture shows the color more accurately, but they both seem to indicate that the polish has a hint of lilac, which I don’t see in real life. In fact, the word that comes to mind is “putty.” I think I love these CQ polishes. I really like the formula, and I REALLY like the teeny brush on this gray one. I’m an extremely lazy and sloppy nail polisher, and the smallness of the brush minimizes the “polish all over the fingers” syndrome that usually plagues me for days after a polishing.

Incidentally, after we got home from the drugstore tonight, when I sat down to write, Mister Principessa asked me, “Hey, aren’t you going to put on that makeup and take pictures of it?” In time, my dear boy. In time.

Published in: on September 14, 2010 at 7:07 am  Comments (4)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://princessfats.wordpress.com/2010/09/14/drugstore-cowgirl/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I so wish there was a Rite Aid anywhere near where I live.

    • Rite Aid is completely awesome, and I am very sad that you do not have one at your disposal. 😦

  2. I love Rite Aid…I’m waiting on them to run another BOGO sale on Wet ‘n’ Wild – should be soon. I really want to try their cream liners, I’ve heard good things. Drugstores in general are the BEST places to buy non-fancypants makeup, especially when you wait to shop the sales.

    • Those BOGO W’n’W sales are awesome. I bought pretty much all of the Color Icon eyeshadow singles during the last one (all but the blue one). Cream liners, you say? Intriguing …


Leave a Reply

