Rose Taupe-iary

Just a quick EOTD today. After all that drama and brightness over the weekend, I figured that today I’d scale it back with a nice neutral-ish eye. For my lid color, I used Entangle, an incredible metallic champagne/taupe from Aromaleigh’s Elemental Lustre collection. Seriously, these eyeshadows are amazing if you’re into metallics. You might still be able to snag some during Aromaleigh’s final clearance later this week.

In the crease, I used a sort of rosy color that I mixed myself with micas from TKB Trading. I loved it when I created it, then discovered to my horror that it’s one of those colors that, when worn on the lid, makes me look like I’ve been weeping for days. But it’s gorgeous as a crease color with Entangle, and here are the swatches to prove it! My frankencolor on the left, Entangle on the right.

Direct sun:

This next one is probably the most accurate, color-wise.

Flash:

The color I mixed isn’t nearly as reddish/coppery as it looks here. It’s really pretty rosey, with a sort of taupe undertone to it.

Eyes!

So, here’s what we have:

  • UDPP
  • Aromaleigh Entangle on lid and under outer lower lashes
  • My frankencolor in crease
  • Urban Decay Sin to highlight
  • UD 24/7 liner in Whiskey on upper lids
  • Clinique High Impact mascara in black/brown over UD lash primer
  • Silk Naturals Kisser Slicker in Birthday Suit on lips

A note about the Kisser Slicker. The Silk Naturals website describes this product as a scented lip gloss stick. Now, it is many things–pretty, flattering, moisturizing–but a “lip gloss stick” ain’t one of them. Nor is it particularly scented, from what I can tell … I can’t discern any fragrance at all, other than the usual lipsticky one. In my opinion, it’s more like a very moisturizing sheer lipstick than a gloss. The color is wonderful, though, a sort of raisiny nude. I love it. It’s a great product, I just wouldn’t call it a lip gloss.

Flash:

Natural light (check it out, I’m glowing like I opened Marsellus Wallace’s briefcase … it’s sunlight reflecting off the building next door):

So, there it is. In other exciting news, the USPS’s horrible tracking system claims that my latest Fyrinnae order is out for delivery. So you can expect more Fyrinnae madness after I get back from vacation!

Published in: on September 13, 2010 at 2:43 pm  Comments (8)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://princessfats.wordpress.com/2010/09/13/rose-taupe-iary/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I love your frankencolor! Very pretty!

    And I agree with you on Silk Natural’s Kisser Slicker. I just placed my first Silk Natural’s order a couple weeks ago. When I tried the Kisser Slicker I ordered, I loved it, but thought it did not seem like a scented gloss stick. It is definitely more of a sheer lipstick!

    • Thanks! And I’m glad I’m not the only one who thought that description was a little … off! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I like that “glowey…..glowy? (whatever) photo though I certainly don’t know who Marsellus Wallace is………….

    • He’s a character in Pulp Fiction … throughout the movie, there’s this recurring theme of a briefcase that glows when anyone opens it, but they never say what’s inside. : )

  3. This is BEAUTIFUL! That last photo made me think of Pandora’s Box.

    • Thanks Heather! I didn’t realize that building was as … reflective as it is!

  4. What a purdy look! I also think your hair is super cute ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Oh, thanks! ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m trying to decide if I should grow it out a bit. I want flapper hair but I think I might look silly with bangs!


Leave a Reply

