Brush-a Brush-a Brush-aaaa

Everyone who just had a flashback to the slumber party scene in Grease, raise your hand!

Today, I’d like to talk about … makeup brushes! Or rather, I’d like to shamelessly beg you for recommendations. I know that everyone’s going to say the MAC 239 and 224, which are already on my wishlist and which I may well treat myself to for my birthday.

However! As we all know, I am a big fat cheapskate! So what I’d like to know is, which are your favorite CHEAP makeup brushes? I’m most interested in eyeshadow brushes, but I’d love to hear anything you have to say on the topic!

My favorite cheapies so far are Sonia Kashuk’s, by a long shot. Specifically, the black ones, not so much the ones with the white handles. The white-handled ones are decent, especially for the price, but they seem to have more errant sticky-outy hairs that require trimming, which bugs me.

I also have a couple of Sephora brushes, which aren’t too bad. I have a few Ulta ones too, which ARE too bad. Or rather, it’s too bad I spent my money on them. ZING! They’re just awful … stiff, thin, and basically useless. They might as well be lip brushes. About the only thing I’ve found I’m able to use them for is lining under my lower lashes with shadow. That’s pretty a goddamn specific task. At least they were cheap (and BOGO free even, as I recall). And I suppose they might be good for applying concealer, which I don’t wear. Le sigh.

I’ve looked at lots of cheapies online–e.l.f., Coastal Scents, Essential Beauty Supplies [ETA: and GOSH]–but I have yet to take the plunge and buy any. And I know that some people just use paintbrushes from craft stores. So tell me … any recommendations? Any to steer clear of?

Published in: on September 12, 2010 at 9:39 am  Comments (10)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://princessfats.wordpress.com/2010/09/12/brush-a-brush-a-brush-aaaa/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

10 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I used to only have this brush and it did everything I wanted it to minus eyeliner http://www.avon.com/1/1/3716-ergonomic-rounded-eyeshadow-brush.html
    The brustles weren’t pokey like a lot of cheapos out there and it was big enough for the lid and small enough for the crease.
    If you’re in Canada and someone says “Quo”, just say NO! I have one brush and it’s very scratchy and sucks majorly.

    • Interesting! Avon, huh? I don’t think I even knew they made brushes. I’m in the US but will steer clear of Quo! Thanks! 🙂

      • yuppers, they brought some out when they did their own mineral shadow/blushes. I think I still see them in the books from time to time.

  2. I quite like the Sigma brushes. I bought the travel set and it forms the core of my brush collection, with a few other random brushes I’ve picked up here and there. Travel kit: http://www.sigmabeauty.com/product_p/tk002.htm

    They are very good brushes, and much cheaper than MAC but a set is still a bit of an investment – it’s $50 for the travel set, $45 for a full-sized eye brushes kit (http://www.sigmabeauty.com/product_p/ek001.htm), and $80-$150 for a full set of full-sized brushes.

    • Hmmmm, I’ve heard of these but haven’t really looked into them. I’m intrigued by their variety of eye brushes … off to take a closer look! Thanks! 🙂

      • Just a quick addition – eyeslipsface have some nice brushes too. I like the $3 pencil brush, and have a couple of the $1 ones.

        All are nice, but one of the $1 brushes fell off the handle. 😦 I’ll pack it in my travel bag instead I think.

      • Thanks! I’m thinking about trying a few of them … even if they’re horrible, I’d be out what, $10?

  3. My favorite eyeshadow brush is the elf studio contour brush ($3). Their other eyeshadow brushes are nice too, but I prefer the contour brushes because they are skinnier. I don’t like how fat typical eyeshadow brushes are. They also just came out with a new line of brushes that are bamboo & supposedly good for mineral makeup.

    Ecotools brushes are also really nice, super soft, and inexpensive.

    • That’s part of the problem I’m having too … I feel like all of my brushes are GIGANTIC. I have one Sonia Kashuk one that I love that works really well for doing an all-over wash of color, but it is freaking enormous. I’ll take a look at the e.l.f. one you mentioned–thanks! 🙂

      I have one Ecotools brush that I like a lot as a blending brush. But again, huge-normous.

  4. […] even more exciting are my two brush purchases. As you might have read the other day, I’m currently on the hunt for decent cheap-ass eyeshadow brushes. So I picked […]


Leave a Reply

