Bright Idea!

Having sated my longing for drama with the pink smokey eye, today I decided to try out this whole “bright colors” thing I’ve been hearing so much about. I’m not a huge wearer of bright colors (as you might have noticed), but I recently bought a couple that I wanted to play with–namely, We’re All Mad Here, a chartreusey green from Fyrinnae, and Juvenile, a bright greenish yellow from Concrete Minerals. (Actually, that one was a free sample, but I THOUGHT about buying it, and it’s the thought that counts.)

As always, click photos for big versions, because I KNOW you want a better look at my spider plant.

I was inspired to some degree by Marianne’s post about bright colors, although she put her yellow color on the lid and the green above it (I did the opposite). I was enjoying the yellowy greenness of it all, but I wanted to throw some purple in there, so I added Herbivore, a purple Fyrinnae shadow with green shimmer, under my lower lashes. I also wanted to see how Herbivore looked with We’re All Mad Here, because I suspected they might be great together, and I think they are. Take a look at the swatches and let me know if you agree!

Swatch notes: First one is in indirect natural light, second one is in direct sunlight, third one is with the flash. Also, let us consider the black line to be the Maxon-Dixon Line of the back of my hand. The northern states are armed with nothing but Urban Decay Primer Potion, whereas the southern states also have the benefit of Pixie Epoxy. And yet they STILL managed to lose the war. (KIDDING!)

We’re All Mad Here on the left, Herbivore in the middle, Juvenile on the right.

These photos, as usual, don’t do justice to the colors in real life. You can’t really see the green in Herbivore at all. But trust me … it’s there, and it looks really freaking cool next to We’re All Mad Here.

And now … THE EYEBALLS!

No flash, indirect outdoor light:

With flash:

Product breakdown!

  • UDPP
  • Fyrinnae Pixie Epoxy on lids
  • Fyrinnae We’re All Mad Here on lids and into crease
  • Concrete Minerals Juvenile in and above crease
  • Concrete Minerals White Rabbit to highlight
  • Fyrinnae Herbivore under lower lashes (over Pixie Epoxy)
  • Urban Decay 24/7 eyeliner in Zero on top lid and waterine
  • Lancome Hypnose Drama mascara over UDPP
  • On lips: Bishop’s Violet mica from TKB Trading mixed with clear gloss from Victoria’s Secret

This was a lot of fun to put together. And the Mister liked it, which shocked the hell out of me. Two thumbs up!

Published in: on September 12, 2010 at 4:34 pm  Comments (8)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://princessfats.wordpress.com/2010/09/12/bright-idea/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Very pretty! We’re All Mad Here is one of my favourite greens, it’s just so sparkly!
    And it’s always good when the Mister likes the makeup. My Mister only likes maybe 25% of mine but if one day he goes “that looks neat” I know I done good πŸ˜€

    • It is a really nice green! These pictures don’t really show the brightness or greenness of it very well.

      Mister Principessa’s favorite makeup on me is “none,” so I was sort of stunned that he liked this! O.o

  2. Ahh, doesn’t it just get you when your photos just aren’t catching the colors right!? Anyways, this is a lovely eotd. I especially like your first picture. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks! I have an especially hard time getting Fyrinnae colors to show up right. I always just want to say, “Oh, hell, just buy it. THEN you’ll see.” πŸ™‚

  3. LOVE IT! So much love. I feel like doing a look like this now, I might have to play around with my shadows later tonight ^^

    • Oh yay! Glad you liked it! πŸ™‚

  4. Really cool! I’d also love to see a version of this with really grassy green and really lemony yellow matte shadows(methinks…the latest bright MAC shades). I think it would go well! I like the sparkliness, and I think the addition of the purple was a good idea. It gives it that extra pop and fun factor!

    • Oooh, that would be good! This one, as usual, looked a lot more intense in real life than in the photos. Bah!

      I don’t know why I didn’t do the purple all the way across the bottom … ?


Leave a Reply

