Requisite Naked Palette Neutral Eye Post

If you read beauty blogs with any sort of regularity and haven’t been living under a rock in a cave on Mars with a blindfold and headphones on for the past three months or so, you’ll have heard of the Naked palette from Urban Decay. I’ll spare you the review and swatches, because I’m pretty sure most of you have seen it all before, several times over. (If not, then I’d like to humbly recommend a little approach that we technical editors refer to as “JFGI.”)

I will say, though, that I freaking LOVE this palette. Love it. It’s incredibly versatile, and it’s full of the champagney neutral shades that we boring old office-job-having ladies frequently prefer for weekdays. So I thought I’d join the hordes and do a neutral look using just this palette. And here it is!

BEHOLD MY GIANT EYEBALL!!!

With flash:

Most of these are flash photos … sorry about that. (I can see already that this lighting situation is going to devolve further as winter approaches, but I digress.)

Outside, indirect natural light:

Inside, with flash:

Here’s the products breakdown:

  • UDPP
  • Sin on inner lids and inner corners
  • Toasted all over lids and into crease (loooooove this color)
  • Hustle in crease
  • Sidecar* above Hustle
  • Virgin to highlight
  • 24/7 eyeliner in Whiskey on waterline
  • DiorShow mascara over UD lash primer
  • UD XXX Shine lip gloss in Love Junkie

*Urban Decay is notorious for glitter bomb eyeshadows, and Sidecar is one of them. It’s a really nice color, but you WILL end up with glitter all over your face.You know it’s serious when you end up with glitter on your forehead.

Click these two for big versions.

Despite how this next one looks, I AM NOT HIGH. Promise.

So, there it is! Do you have this palette? If so, do you like it? If not, do you want it? Sick of hearing about it already? Think that neutrals are painfully boring? Believe that corporate makeup is a tool of The Man? Have big plans for the weekend? Tell me SOMETHING, for the love of Pete! I’m not picky!

ETA: Shayla over at Reve Noir did essentially this exact look today too! Great minds, by God. Great minds.

Published in: on September 10, 2010 at 7:14 am  Comments (10)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://princessfats.wordpress.com/2010/09/10/requisite-naked-palette-neutral-eye-post/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

10 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Ugh, one day I’ll get my email from UD saying I can finally friggin order it, lol. You make it look quite lovely.

    • Aw, man! : ( It’s really nice, I hope you can get your hands on one soon!

      • Haha right after I left that comment, I got an email from Urban Decay that there was a palette ready for me!! (I signed up for the wait list.) It’s on it’s way!! WOOT!

      • Oh yaaaaaaaay! You will love it! 🙂

  2. I have and love this palette.

    It appeared quite boring once in my possession but whenever I’m doing my eyeshadow I reach for this in between wild mineral powders to be my fallback when I need a highlighted or crease colour or liner shadow NOW.

    • Me too! Need a basic, light highlight color? It has two. Need a neutral beige? It’s there. Shimmery champagne? Yep. Dark, smoky gray, basic black, goldy colors, browny colors, IT HAS FREAKING EVERYTHING. It’s so basic and useful.

  3. Haha, wow, great minds is right! You’ve got great coloring for this look, too, and I love your writing style!

    Thanks for the shout out – I’m following you now! 🙂

  4. This looks lovely! If my work day look wasn’t completely lacking of makeup, complemented by a big t-shirt and yoga pants…oh, and don’t forget the messy ponytail, then I would do one. I think this is very simple yet lovely! I might have to check out the Naked palette. One of my favorite go-to neutrals is Honesty. By Christian Dior. JUST KIDDING. It’s by MAC.

    • The Naked Palette is AMAZING. It’s an incredible value too. Highly recommended!


Leave a Reply

