Fyrinnae, AGAIN

Sick of Fyrinnae posts yet? No? Good! Me neither!

Last night, I decided that it was time to conquer the mighty PIXIE EPOXY. Pixie Epoxy is a magical, tacky, gel-like substance manufactured in a woodland glade from the powdered wings of sustainably farmed, organically raised fairy folk, plucked by moonlight from the branches of an enchanted apple tree. Or so you might be led to believe if you’ve read any one of the bazillion glowing reviews of this stuff that exist throughout the makeup bloggery corner of the intertubes. Essentially, Pixie Epoxy is intended to “glue” sparkly eyeshadows, glitter, and the like to your face, thus preventing the dreaded “fallout” and bringing out the true intensity and sparkle of Fyrinnae’s complex, shimmery, multilayered shadows.

I had fiddled with PE a bit right after I got it, but given that my technical makeup skills are nonexistent still developing, I wasn’t too pleased with the results. However, I refuse to be intimidated by inanimate objects (for example, the gas stove in my previous apartment that you had to manually light with an open flame any time you wanted to use it), so I girded my loins and determined to give the epoxy another shot. And I’m happy to say that this time, I was much happier with the way things turned out. This stuff WORKS.

Let us begin with a couple of swatches. The color that I used the Pixie Epoxy on (vice-versa, really) was Velvet Vampire, one of Fyrinnae’s “Arcane Magic” shadows. These colors are complex even for Fyrinnae; as their site puts it, “Fyrinnae’s Arcane Magic Eyeshadows are specialized colours with a highlight that changes hue depending on how the light hits it (closer to or further from a light). Different light sources may show different shades, too.” Velvet Vampire is described as “a complex deep reddish hue that varies between molten cool crimson and a firey phoenix-red, all laced with gold sparkle and glimmer. Bring it closer to light or change the angle, and it turns to a metallic glittering gold with subtle “underhues” of copper.” In these photos, Velvet Vampire is swatched dry over UDPP on top and over Pixie Epoxy on bottom.

Direct sun (as always, click for bigger versions of photos):

Fyrinnae Velvet Vampire swatch with Pixie Epoxy in direct sun

Indoors, with flash:

Fyrinnae Velvet Vampire swatch with Pixie Epoxy, indirect light, flash

You can really see how the PE grabs onto the color and glitter, making the shadow much more intense.

The other 2 colors I used in this look were Koala and Cheetah. Koala, described as a “medium rosy taupe” with a satin finish, is on the left; I think this will be another go-to Fyrinnae neutral for me. On the right is Cheetah, described as a “soft glowing pale peach” with “a slight golden shimmer.” I love both of these.

Indoors, with flash:

Fyrinnae Koala and Cheetah swatches

Fyrinnae Koala and Cheetah swatches, part two

I was actually fairly pleased with how this look came out. It’s sort of warm and … I dunno, sunsetty?

Fyrinnae eyeshadow look with Velvet Vampire, Koala, and Cheetah

I would definitely click on this next one if I were you. Seriously. Click, and behold the gorgeousness and gorgeousity that is Fyrinnae.

Fyrinnae Velvet Vampire, Koala, and Cheetah close up

Impressive, eh? Although Velvet Vampire must be seen in the flesh to be believed.

Here’s the details:

  • UDPP
  • Fyrinnae Pixie Epoxy on lids
  • Fyrinnae Velvet Vampire on lids and under lower lashes over PE
  • Fyrinnae Koala in crease above Velvet Vampire
  • Fyrinnae Cheetah above Koala
  • Clinique High Impact mascara in Black Brown

And one sort of crappy outside photo.

Fyrinnae look in outdoor light

So there you have it! Do you have Velvet Vampire, or any of the other Arcane Magic colors? Have you conquered the Epoxy of Wonder?

Published in: on September 4, 2010 at 4:23 pm  Comments (14)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://princessfats.wordpress.com/2010/09/04/fyrinnae-again/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

14 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. No, I’m not sick of Fyrinnae posts! I can’t get enought of them! I am still tinkering with Pixie Epoxy myself. Don’t have it down just right, but haven’t given up on it yet.

    I love Velvet Vampire! And your look with it is beautiful!

    • Thanks! I can’t get enough Fyrinnae either … The Pixie Epoxy has a steep learning curve for me because once you swipe something over it, it’s not going anywhere! :O

  2. This is like, the most awesome post ever.

  3. I love how you can see those big glitter chunks in the eye close up photo :O There are so many Fyrinnae shades I want because of your blog!

    • Heheheheheh … I know, I’m a terrible enabler. The glitter in Velvet Vampire is INSANE. It’s just gorgeous.

  4. I love Fyrinnae, and I think your description of the epoxy is dead on. ^_^

  5. I love Fyrinnae! I’ve had Pixie Epoxy in my stash for, oh…quite a while now. I tried to used it several times but just never got the hang of it – the end result ended up looking patchy and I was always disappointed. I think I was trying to use too little, considering all of the reviews I’d read advised on using the tiniest amount possible, like 2-pixels worth. Bah.

    I used it the other night with GREAT success and had a moment of, “OH! So this is why people love this stuff!” The amount that worked best for me was tapping the flat end of the wand against my eye and blending it out. Perfect-o!

    Have you tried any of their face products? I’ve been weighing the primer vs fluff and can’t decide.

    • I do think it’s tricky to use, both because it’s unlike anything else out there and because once you swipe your eyeshadow across it, it’s not moving until you take it off with some kind of remover. It’s not very … forgiving, I guess. Which isn’t a bad thing, you just have to get your head around it. Glad that you were able to get a hang of it! I think it’s worth the learning curve.

      I haven’t tried any of their face products–I don’t really wear a lot of stuff on my face. But I have been eyeing the fluff, because I really like the idea of something that’s transparent and that might keep the shine situation down a little. If you do end up getting one, I’d love to hear what you think!

  6. I LOVE Fyrinnae so there can never be too many Fyrinnae posts 😀 I don’t think I have VelvetVampire but I have too many Fyrinnae colors anyway. LOL

    The look you made is lovely!

    • Thank you! 🙂 I totally agree, there can never be enough Fyrinnae posts!

  7. This Pixie Epoxy seems to be quite an intriguing new concoction, hummm? I think the VelvetVampire is seriously gorgeous!

    • Yeah, it’s pretty freakin’ amazing! I need more of those Arcane Magic ones, they really are crazy in real life.


Leave a Reply

