Sold!

I got my first Fyrinnae order last night, and let me just tell you … it was 100% worth the wait. (Which was actually totally reasonable. I placed my order on 21 August, it shipped on the 28th, and I had it in my hot little hands on the 31st. Not bad at all.)

The eyeshadows I ordered (13 samples, $2 a pop) are AMAZING. Just stunning. Complex, incredibly textured, beautifully colored … I can’t say enough good things about them. So I won’t! There are about 450,000 stellar, gushy reviews of Fyrinnae online already, and I feel no need to reinvent that particular wheel. Just know that IT’S ALL TRUE.

I couldn’t wait to start playing with these, so I fiddled around with a bunch of them last night. I knew right away that I wanted to do a look with Daemon’s Tail, which is a burgundy-purple color that’s magically combined somehow with gold. Their site appears to be down right now, so I can’t get the description, but trust me, whatever it says about this color is accurate. It’s not purple with gold sparkles, it’s PURPLE AND GOLD COMBINED. The word that comes to mind is “brocade.” Very hard to describe, so on to the pictures! Inside, with flash:

Fyrinnae eyeshadow look with Daemon's Tail and Polar Bear

This look was inspired by the lovely and extremely talented Jangsara (second one down … hers is WAAAAAY better than mine, as she appears to actually “have talent” and “know how to take pictures”). If you’re looking for makeup inspiration, I strongly recommend that you hie your shapely behind over to her site and click around, because she knows what the hell she’s doing.

Click the rest of the photos for big versions. I left this next one HUGE to try to give some idea of how complex Daemon’s Tail is. It’s one of those things you have to see in real life to fully appreciate, unfortunately.

Outside, indirect light, no flash:

Fyrinnae Daemon's Tail and Polar Bear look in indirect sunlight

The gold color is Polar Bear, also by Fyrinnae and also very pretty. It’s one of those colors that doesn’t look like anything special in the jar, but comes to life when you apply it.

Inside, indirect light, flash:

Fyrinnae eyeshadow look, full face

Here’s the breakdown:

  • UDPP
  • Fyrinnae Daemon’s Tail all over lids, up into crease, and under outer lower lashes
  • Fyrinnae Polar Bear in inner corners and above Daemon’s Tail all across lids and up toward browbones
  • Milani Liquif’eye eyeliner in Gold on upper lids
  • Urban Decay 24/7 liner in Zero on waterline
  • DiorShow mascara

With Fyrinnae Daemon's Tail and Polar Bear in indirect outside light

Oh look, a lonely half-closed eyeball, languishing in the sun.

My eye with Fyrinnae Daemon's Tail and Polar Bear eyeshadow in direct sun

So, yeah. I’m sold. You can expect a lot more blathering about Fyrinnae from me in the future. Lucky you!

ETA: The description of this color on Fyrinnae’s site says: “A rich combination of purple and gold. Not purple with gold shimmer, or vice-versa, but a velvety mix of different shades, which adds a burgundy hue in as well. Must be seen in person to appreciate–photos do no justice to this.” Yeah. That.

Published in: on September 1, 2010 at 6:01 pm  Comments (5)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://princessfats.wordpress.com/2010/09/01/sold/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. VERY cool. I’m going to go check out their site and try to resist purchasing more makeup…thanks a lot, Ms. Bad Influence.

    • Oh holy crap, you will NOT regret it. Every single color I got from them is stunning.

  2. […] a quick & dirty Fyrinnae eye of the day! It’s sort of the lazy, everyday version of this one, using the same shades: Daemon’s Tail and Polar […]

  3. I freakin heart Fyrinnae so much!!! I have several LOTDs & swatches on my blog & and impatiently waiting for my recent order to arrive. Oh!!! You must try their Lip Lustres ~ they are amazing & complex.

    • I’ve heard really good things about the Lip Lustres! Maybe I’ll order some next time around …


Leave a Reply

