Grow Your Own, with a Word about Planning

Ah, fall. I know that summer is coming to an end when there’s a nip to the evening air, the aisles at Target are packed with cranky children and back-to-school supplies, and I start feeling that familiar annual yearning to smear deep, rich, burgundyish colors onto my face. And wouldn’t you know? One of the first eyeshadows I mixed when I started playing around with micas from TKB Trading was just such a color. In fact, I named it after my old friend Jette, who provided us with such a lovely guest post the other day.

Before I get into the details of this look, though, I want to put in a quick word in favor of planning ahead. Bear with me here, this does come back to makeup eventually.

Not to get too “life coach” on ya, but over the past few years, I’ve become acutely aware of the importance of planning. Taking a wee bit of time to spell out what you’re trying to achieve can pay off in spades. I’m not one of those militant “IF YOU FAIL TO PLAN, YOU PLAN TO FAIL!!!” people (although if that works for you, then have at it). But you can save yourself a lot of grief if you spend a few minutes at the end of the day planning what you’re going to be up to tomorrow (and a few minutes this month thinking about the next, and so on).

For me, this extends all the way to clothes and makeup. And yes, I figure out what I’m going to wear to work–on my body AND on my face–the previous evening. It saves me time in the morning, it gives me this perverse, smug sense of satisfaction, and it even helps me look forward to the next day. Rolling out of bed at 5:50 is a little bit more bearable if I know I’m going to get to put on a cute skirt, a coordinating necklace, some scrumptious perfume, and an eyeshadow I love. Sweet makeup eases the pain, with apologies to Troy McClure.

So, as you might have guessed, I figured out what colors I was going to combine for this look last night before I went to bed. And in fact, I started writing this post last night too. Is your mind BLOWN yet???

Click to embiggen photos.

Now, I have to admit, I’m not crazy about the way this came out. I think it’s too dark overall and the colors blend together too much. I believe my major misstep here was using Lolita (described as “shimmery taupe with pink undertones”) all over my lids. I LOVE this color, but I think it’s just too dark to use as a base (for me at least). I should have used it on the inner 3rd of my lids and called it good. So, while I’m not crazy about this look, I’m going to post it anyway. Not everything is a masterpiece, and that’s OK.

Here’s what we have here:

  • Concrete Minerals Lolita all over lid and above crease
  • Concrete Minerals Deviant in middle/outer part of lid
  • Jette, mixed by me with micas from TKB trading, on outer lid and in crease
  • Off-white highlight shadow, also mixed by me, under brows
  • DiorShow mascara

With flash:

Outside, natural light:

Incidentally, mixing your own loose eyeshadow is HEAPS of fun. I do it at the kitchen table, in probably the most unsafe, unhygienic manner possible, but I only foist my bacteria-laden finished products on very close friends and relatives, so it’s OK. If you’re interested in growing your own, as it were, check out TKB Trading’s site. They have all the colors of mica you could possibly want, plus additives, dirt-cheap jars, tiny Ziploc baggies, scoops, instructions … pretty much everything you need to get started. Be warned: it is addictive!

Here are a couple of swatches of the burgundy-ish color that I used in this look. These are both flash photos; the first gives an idea of the actual color and how dark it is, and the second shows the level of shimmer.

I’ve been thinking it might be fun to swatch all the colors I’ve made myself. Does that sound like something you’d want to see, or is that the kind of thing that’s interesting only to me (she asked poetically)? Check it out, I made a fancy poll for you!

And please, be brutally honest. It’s the only way I’ll learn.

Published in: on August 31, 2010 at 5:46 pm  Comments (5)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://princessfats.wordpress.com/2010/08/31/grow-your-own-with-a-word-about-planning/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. That color is beautiful!

  2. It really is, and I speak from experience! It’s very similar to one of my favorite old UD colors, Metropolitan. I think the look you have above is nice!

  3. And I would like a sandwich. But I didn’t vote for that option. 😦

  4. Thanks to both of ya! It was REALLY fun to make. : ) If you need a new hobby, you could do worse than mixing eyeshadow, although it does tend to increase the eyeshadow supply in a rather overwhelming way …

  5. Well, no sandwich for you then!


Leave a Reply

