Fat Princess Indeed!

As you might have guessed, I love beauty blogs. I love reading about makeup. I love reading about eyeshadow colors I would never wear, and eyeshadow colors that I must have immediately OH MY GOD WHAT IF THEY STOP MAKING THAT I BETTER ORDER IT RIGHT NOW. I love seeing what other people are buying. I love seeing what color nail polish Evil Angel is wearing today. I love learning about perfumes that incorporate fragrance notes I’ve never heard of. I love all of it.

But. I have a bone to pick.

As you might have guessed by my blog title, I’m a chubby girl. Short, fat, and proud of that, just like Winnie the Pooh. And it’s my feeling that beauty/makeup bloggery could use a good dose of self acceptance, and size acceptance in particular. [I know, I know, I just said I didn’t intend this to be a beauty blog. I’m still honing my focus here! Or maybe I’m just a hypocrite! Either way!] Oh, I know that there are plenty of size- and body-positive beauty writers out there. But–depressingly to me, in this day and age–I still see TONS who regard weight loss as  another task to undertake in the name of “attractiveness.”

In my view, this is horseshit.

In my view, makeup and beauty products (and clothes, and jewelry, and shoes, and fancy handknit scarves, and perfume, and all the other girly accoutrements with which I like to adorn my stumpy little frame) are there to make me feel good. I wear them because I like myself, and because I like to fancy myself up occasionally. They’re like the icing on a cake made of awesome.

I do NOT use makeup as a way to “disguise my flaws,” “perfect my complexion,” “minimize my pores,” “make my hideous visage marginally less offensive to the general public,” or whatever the hell euphemism the beauty marketing folks are using these days. I do it because, while it’s been some time since I felt the urge to, say, dye my hair green, I do enjoy putting green stuff on my eyelids from time to time. [Not that there’s anything wrong with having green hair! Or blue hair, or pink hair, or gray hair, or no hair!] I do it purely in the name of fun and enjoyment and out of a love of color.

And as a corollary, I do not undertake any activity with the specific goal of weight loss. Like most women, I’ve been through a ton of crap in terms of body image. It’s taken me YEARS to come to terms with how I look. And at this point in my life, I like myself enough that I’m done attempting to change the size or shape of my body, especially not in the name of something as capricious as “fashion.” I will never look like Angelina Jolie. Hell, I will never look like Crystal Renn. And you know, that’s OK. (Although I did model for Torrid for approximately three minutes. OK, five hours. Trufax!)

I don’t want to get too heavily (har!) into fat acceptance here, and in fact I don’t have any immediate plans to write about it again. Other bloggers have covered this territory better and more thoroughly than I ever could, and if you’re waging war with your body, I strongly urge you to read up on this stuff. I just wanted to give a little bit of background on why I am, unapologetically, La Principessa Grassa, and not just La Principessa.

I know who I am. And who I am is short and chubby and apparently so obsessed with Depravity perfume by Haus of Gloi that she reapplies it after work so she can smell good while sitting on the couch reading beauty blogs.

OK, I swear I’m done with the navel-gazery for at least a few days! This weekend: food, knitting, and anything else interesting that comes along.

Published in: on August 27, 2010 at 6:51 am  Comments (9)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://princessfats.wordpress.com/2010/08/27/fat-princess-indeed/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

9 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I have to admit, I came for the navel gazing tag but stayed for the writing haha.

    Happy Blogging

    • Hey thanks! Whatever gets ya in the door : ) Happy Friday!

  2. Amen to that, sister!

    • Holla! Are the kids still saying that? : P

  3. The nice thing about putting green stuff on your eyelids, as opposed to your hair, is that it comes off/out a whole lot easier!

  4. I am having a love affair with Depravity right now! I’ve been desperately wishing someone would ask me what it is that I’m wearing so I can say “Depravity” and have them wonder if I’m serious. Anyhow- I applaud your attitude. I’ve actually just read a whole lot of your blog in one sitting and I am impressed all around by your outlook. It seems that you weren’t sure you wanted this to be a beauty blog when you started but you have been writing more beauty-related posts as it went on. I think that’s great because we need more attitudes like yours in the beauty blogging community- there is way too much drama, and negativity and putting others down. More voices like yours and posts like this can only make things better! One little thing though- while loving your body at any size is a good thing, being healthy is important too. I know that you don’t have to be thin to be healthy, I was doing great at 20 pounds over what is considered a healthy weight for my height (I am under five feet) but then I gained *another* 20 and I started having more health problems than ever. I’m working on losing weight by exercising more and working out has helped lower my stress and I feel like it makes me happier in general. I would just add the caveat to body acceptance- you are right, no one should lose weight for fashion’s sake. If you need to lose weight for health’s sake though then engaging in activity for the sake of weight loss isn’t something to be discouraged. What do you think?

    • Thanks for your input! I’m so glad that you’re enjoying the blog. And the Depravity. I swear, there isn’t a big enough bottle of that stuff on earth to keep me happy. O.o

      As to your question–I would certainly never discourage anyone from doing what they felt that they needed to do to be healthy, or to feel good. But, I am also a believer in Health At Every Size, which you can learn more about here: http://www.haescommunity.org/

      In other words, I tend to think that it’s the HABITS that *can* lead to weight loss that make you healthier, not weight loss per se. For instance, I adopted (temporarily, as it turned out) a vegan diet last year and lost about 40 pounds without trying at all. But I also know for a fact that I was way too heavy for my height at the time–heavier than my body wanted to be. So, once I got my habits and lifestyle in order, the weight just fell off–and, more important, my cholesterol and blood pressure dropped significantly. Even though I’ve gone back to a more conventional diet, my weight, BP, and cholesterol/triglycerides have stayed the same.

      I have no problem whatsoever with adding more fruits/vegetables/fiber or whatever to your diet, or exercising more, if that’s what makes you feel better. For me, focusing specifically on weight loss is detrimental to my mental state (largely, I think, because I went through an extremely unhealthy and obsessive period of disordered eating in college).

      So, I prefer to focus on health, and on controlling the factors that I can control. My weight per se is not one of those factors. I can exercise all I want and eat an extremely healthy diet, but my body DOES NOT want to go below a size 14. Getting it below that size requires every ounce of spare mental and physical energy I have, and keeping it below that size is essentially impossible.

      So, that’s my long-winded way of saying that I’ve found that healthy habits and weight loss do not necessarily go in hand. However, if you do adopt healthier habits and you end up losing weight as a side effect, I think that’s a good indication that you were probably heavier than your body wanted to be. Does that make sense?

      ETA: Dammit, still figuring out my comments thing. Anyway, one clarification since I sort of forgot to make my point about The Vegan Phase. During that period last year, I lost *exactly* the amount of weight that I had put on over the previous couple of years, and I am once again the weight that I was in high school–i.e., the same weight/size that I was before I ever considered dieting and lost or gained an ounce, and the weight that my body naturally wants to maintain. I’m a hell of a lot healthier now in terms of BP, heart rate, cholesterol, triglycerides, etc., but the only time I’ve even come CLOSE to being in the “healthy” category BMI-wise was during my most miserable disordered eating days. It’s my feeling now that it’s more important to focus on your habits and on the numbers that matter–i.e., the numbers that reflect how your body is working on the INSIDE–than to focus on the number on the scale.

      Whew!

  5. All of what you said makes complete sense. I usually respond to longer replies like this bit by bit since you took the time and thought to write it out but since I so wholeheartedly hear, understand and agree with the whole thing I was hoping you will understand if I just say so! I’m glad that you have found what works for you and you are happy with yourself and healthy. You obviously have a healthy attitude all-around and your writing is a pleasure to read. I’m really glad I found your blog.

    • Aw, I’m so glad to hear all of that. Best. Comment. Ever. *wipes tear*


Leave a Reply

