A Decree

First, a confession: I found that last post almost painfully boring to write. It was the first post I’ve written that I really didn’t enjoy writing (one out of 13 ain’t bad, I guess!). I found it tedious because although I was really only bowled over by maybe half the products I bought, I felt obligated for some reason to talk about ALL of them.

See, here’s the thing: I am extremely opinionated (as my mother and The Mister will attest), and I’m happiest when I’m really passionate about something. Having (and expressing!) strong feelings and opinions, to me, is FUN. It’s NOT fun when I find myself going “well, this wasn’t great, but it wasn’t horrible, so, you know, buy it if you want to!” Which is sort of how I felt about that last post. My review also didn’t say anything that you couldn’t read on Makeup Alley or on one of the 900,000 review-oriented beauty blogs out there.

Above all, I want this blog to be FUN. I started it mostly to blather on at some length about my creative little hobbies and my obsession with all things colorful and smelly and soft and tasty, and as an outlet for my writing. I did NOT intend for it to be a “beauty blog” per se, and I really feel like that last post veered into “beauty blog” territory–writing about makeup for the sake of writing about makeup. I LOVE reading those types of posts, but apparently I really don’t enjoy writing them!  So going forward, I’ll probably write reviews only when I come across something that’s just so stupendous (or so atrocious >: ) that I can’t keep it to myself.

This whole situation is reminiscent of when I get myself entrenched in a knitting project I don’t enjoy. I feel some odd and uncomfortable obligation to soldier on through it, even though I’m not having fun. Some people think that that kind of thing is good for you–that it’s good sometimes to learn or do certain things just for the sake of learning or doing them. When it comes to my hobbies, I disagree. Big time.

I want my hobbies to be enjoyable. That’s why I’m doing them. I want writing this blog to be something that I look forward to at the end of the day, not something that feels like a chore, or like homework. I don’t mind a challenge, but I don’t like feeling obligated to do X just because other knitters / bloggers / 30-year-old women with sociology degrees living in old apartments in southern California with their boyfriends and cats are doing it. And the only person who’s making me feel obligated is me.

So fuck it.

ETA: I don’t want to sound like I’m coming down on beauty blogs, because I’m not! I LOOOOOVE beauty blogs and makeup reviews, and I spend way too much time reading them and subsequently engaging in extreme acts of Internet commerce (the Mister will attest to all of this also).  But I think I’ll leave the review writing to the people who love it, enjoy it, and are good at it!

Published in: on August 26, 2010 at 7:26 am  Comments (2)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://princessfats.wordpress.com/2010/08/26/a-decree/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Sounds like a deal to me, sunshine……these blogs go where you want them to go so……………forge on!

  2. So basically, I just want to do what I want to do at all times : P


Leave a Reply

