Speaking of Good Deals …

Having had good luck lately with makeup from drugstores and indie companies, I’m becoming more skeptical about the strength of the connection between price and quality when it comes to makeup. I do believe that a lot of the time you get what you pay for, and if something is of really outstanding quality, I don’t mind paying more for it. But I don’t believe that price and quality always go hand in hand. I’ve ordered pricey stuff online that turned out to be less than impressive in person (a couple of Urban Decay Deluxe Eyeshadows fall into this category), and I’ve fallen totally in love with products that were incredibly inexpensive.

In my quest for good, cheap makeup, I’ve done a lot of research and read a lot of reviews on Makeup Alley. I kept reading good things about NYX, so I decided to give them a whirl. I took advantage of Cherry Culture’s 20% off sale last week and ordered a few eyeshadows, a couple of eyeliners (OK, five), a mascara, some brow powder, and a lip gloss, plus a couple of Milani lipsticks.

My initial impression is that NYX’s quality is good overall, if a bit hit and miss. Their matte eyeshadows seem a little sheer, but their shimmery/frosty ones are incredible–highly pigmented, soft, and easy to blend. The eyeliners were varied too; a few of the colors were nice and opaque, but a couple seemed to require more than one layer and were tough to build up. (I don’t know if there’s a name for this phenomenon: I tried to put a second layer of color on top of the first and the pressure of the pencil sort of pushed the first layer aside. It’s hard to explain. I’ll try to take a photo of it.)

I was really pleased with the brow powder, which came with wax for added taming capabilities. My eyebrows are–oh, let’s say, “spirited,” which sounds a little more self-accepting than “the bane of my existence”–and I suspect I will get a lot of use out of it. The gloss seems nice, but the color (Real Nude) was a bit pinker than I’d expected. And I really like the mascara, which lengthened my stumpy and useless lashes nicely. It took a while to dry, but I love the formula; it’s significantly less “goopy” than a lot of my higher-end mascaras, which made me feel like I had better control over it, and it wasn’t clumpy at all.

I was also really impressed with the Milani lipstick in Cocoa Sugar. I’ve been on a quest for YEARS to find a replacement for my beloved Benefit The Gloss in Big Magic, the best nude lipgloss I’ve ever found, now sadly discontinued. This lipstick looks to be very similar in color, so yay for me! (Another similar color is L’Oreal Colour Juice in Passionfruit Squeeze, but I digress.) It’s also a nice formula, very moisturizing.

Enough! On to the pretties! Here’s what we have here–everything by NYX unless otherwise noted. Prices below do NOT reflect the sale discount.

  • Vanilla Sky eyeshadow all over lid ($3.50)
  • Lime Green eyeshadow on outer lid and in crease (also $3.50)
  • The middle color of Ultra Chic eyeshadow trio to highlight (it’s not named on the package; $5.50)
  • Slim Eye Pencil in Dark Brown (actually layered over Velvet, which is a gorgeous color but didn’t show up over the shadow at all; $2.50)
  • Doll Eye Mascara, Long Lash, Extreme Black ($7), over Urban Decay primer
  • Eyebrow Cake Powder in Dark Brown/Brown (I used Brown here; $6)
  • Milani lipstick in Cocoa Sugar  ($3.99)

As always, click photos to embiggen.

No flash:

Flash:

Outside:

Overall, I’m quite pleased with this purchase. And I think the Vanilla Sky and Lime Green look really nice together (I LOVE the Lime Green, actually … it’s kind of a light, bright olive/gold duochrome). I would definitely order NYX again. And I’d order from Cherry Culture again too! Fast delivery, very reasonable prices, happy all around.

Published in: on August 25, 2010 at 6:31 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://princessfats.wordpress.com/2010/08/25/speaking-of-good-deals/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I do like the lime, but I still like the peachy stuff better!


Leave a Reply

