This One’s For My Mom

Here we have a very subtle and natural yet sparkly and summery look. I wanted to try out all my Urban Decay peachy-goldy colors, and I figured I’d better get on it since summer is almost over (Mister Principessa started classes today, for the love of little green apples!).

urban decay eyeshadow look

I used Urban Decay deluxe eyeshadow in Scratch all over the lid, regular-ass non-deluxe eyeshadow in X up toward the brow, and loose pigment in Shag in the crease. (Remind me to write a post about why UD loose pigments are a HUGE RIPOFF if you buy them at retail price.) I  wanted to incorporate my MAC Rose pigment (sent to me by my dear friend and future guest poster Jette), so I used it on the outer 3rd of my lids and mixed it with clear gloss on my lips.

I also layered brown eyeliner over Milani Liquif’eye in Gold and blended them together, which created an interesting old-gold kind of eyeliner color. Liquif’eye is AMAZING, by the way. Dirt cheap, beautiful, and does. not. budge. Check it out–Temptalia gave it an A+! Mascara is Clinique something or other in black-brown, which I like better than black when I’m doing more natural colors.

Look, I did swatches! Here are the colors indoors, with flash. Click for bigger.

urban decay eyeshadow swatches

Here they are outdoors, in direct sunlight, with no flash.

urban decay and mac rose pigment swatches

And here they are outdoors, in indirect light, with the flash. This one is probably the most accurate.

urban decay eyeshadow and mac rose pigment swatches

This is the kind of flattering, girly, dare I say “pretty” makeup that I think my mother was praying I’d get on board with someday back when I was in high school, busily smudging black Cover Girl eyeliner all over my eyes and caking my face in powder three shades lighter than my actual skin tone.

OK, Mom, you got me. YOU WERE RIGHT. THIS DOES LOOK BETTER.

Happy?

Bonus photo! Could this be what’s eating my tomatoes???

Published in: on August 23, 2010 at 4:22 pm  Comments (3)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://princessfats.wordpress.com/2010/08/23/this-ones-for-my-mom/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Look! New moniker. And yay! My pigment. Looks very good on you. You do it in a very subtle, pretty way, which is kind of opposite to my very not-subtle, heavy-handed way! And hey, high school is meant to be all black and smudged. Otherwise, we wouldn’t have survived.

    • Ha! You are the yin to my yang. Or vice versa.

  2. Yes, me girl, this is lots better! I like those peachy coppery tones on you very much……might as well play up those big brown eyes!!

    As to the bug photo, it would be good if you would identify that bad boy – he doesn’t look like something we have in these parts, so finding out who he is, is the first part of that question!


Leave a Reply

