Look! I’m a Fairy!

Our summer has been unusually cool so far, but over the past week or so, the heat has arrived with a fierce determination to make up for being a no-show throughout June, July, and the first half of August. I took a nap this afternoon and when I woke up, it was hotter than hell. I’m going to take a cool shower, so I figured as long as I’m going to wash my face anyway, why not try out some bright eyeshadow colors first? Anyone else do that? No?

I like to bust out my sample sets from Aromaleigh when I feel like messing with bright colors. (I’m not going to bother linking to their site because they’re going out of business.) I don’t really WEAR colors like this, at least in public/on my face, but I do enjoy playing with them and seeing what looks good together. Plus it’s a fun way to practice my still-fairly-crap technique. Here we have green plus pink. I feel like a fairy!

First up, eyes down with flash. This is the only shot that really gives any indication of the level of shimmer/sparkle we’re working with here. As always, click to see big versions of photos.

Man … count on a super-close-up flash photo to give a good honest look at every single fine line, scar, freckle, and incipient wrinkle you’ve accumulated over the years.

This next one shows how the colors look on my face in the natural light. I don’t generally wear pink eyeshadow because it doesn’t play nicely with my skin tone. It gives me a certain “I’ve been crying for hours and/or just got punched in the face” look.

And finally, a look at the whole shebang with my eyes closed. Here’s what I did–all four eyeshadow colors are from Aromaleigh’s les papillons collection:

Light pink (flying flower) in the inner 3rd of my eyelid
Brighter pink (flutterby) in the middle of lid
Bright, darkish green (winged psyche) on outer lid and crease
Blend blend blend!
Light, goldish green (glowing luna) up into brow and inner corner of eye
Light green eyeshadow I mixed myself wetlined (really unevenly, it seems) onto upper lids
Urban Decay 24/7 eyeliner on waterline (I tried gold, but I didn’t like the way it looked with these colors)
Maybelline The Falsies mascara over Urban Decay lash primer

Published in: on August 22, 2010 at 4:21 pm  Comments (3)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://princessfats.wordpress.com/2010/08/22/look-im-a-fairy/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Very cool! I like the light, shimmery colors. I don’t know why you don’t go out in public like that. You should see how I go out in public. 😉

    • I guess I might wear makeup like that out to dinner or something. I should have said, “I don’t wear colors like that TO WORK.” : P

  2. I like the green eyeliner over the pink a lot!


Leave a Reply

