Spiteful, Spiteful Shawl

I finished my Aeolian last weekend.

Now, I’m the first to admit it. I did a sloppy blocking job. I was super excited to transform this rumpled mass of (extremely soft) knitting

into this devilish little piece of gorgeousness.

So, I didn’t pin it out quite as carefully as I could have. Given how uniformly atrocious the pictures of me wearing it came out, I can only assume that it gave me bad photo juju intentionally, as punishment for my laziness. In my defense, these photos were taken after dinner and at the end of a long work day, so I was both full and sleepy. But really, nothing can adequately explain how godawful they are.

The first half of our photo session took place in the courtyard behind our apartment. The light was dim, but workable. I proceeded to spoil all the photos by doing things like closing my eyes

or making my patented Vincent-D’Onofrio-in-Full-Metal-Jacket “Nobody likes me, Joker” face.

We moved out to the street side of our building, where the light was … different.

Either it was too bright …

… or it was nighttime.

Or, I was suddenly, inexplicably a redhead. Why not?

So, we moved out of the sun into an indirectly lit area, where, once again, I ruined photo after photo by accidentally blinking

or making whatever the hell face this is.

Sigh. Luckily, in the end, the finished object speaks for itself.

It was a surprisingly enjoyable and speedy knit, in large part because I left out the beads and hateful, crazy-making nupps. And I made it out of Malabrigo lace yarn (Olive colorway), which was so soft that I had a hard time putting it down. In fact, I enjoyed making this so much that I might start another one next weekend. Maybe it’ll have a better attitude than its predecessor.

Published in: on January 26, 2011 at 5:58 pm  Comments (13)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://princessfats.wordpress.com/2011/01/26/spiteful-spiteful-shawl/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

13 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Spiteful or not it’s UBER pretty!!!

    • Thank you! Perhaps someday I’ll get a decent picture of it! :D

  2. :P It’s lovely!

  3. Beautiful object and funny post.
    Actually the first eyes closed and the what the hell face pics are pretty good. Why not a little variety. :)

    • Good point! Although I am not sure I agree with your “pretty good” assessment …

  4. It’s very pretty, me girl……elegant looking, unlike some saw in Knitpicks today!

    • Thanks! Yes, some patterns are nicer than others, that’s for sure!

  5. That really is awesome!!

    • Thank yooooou! It was a lot of fun. :)

  6. Very pretty! I like the green, and the pattern is gorgeous!

  7. I am so jealous of your knitting abilities, you have no clue! I could only dream of making such a beautiful shawl! Great work! :)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

