The Christmas Knitting, Part Two: The Scarfening

As you may recall, I did a crapload of knitting for Christmas. I showed you Part One a couple of weeks ago. Being that I forgot to document the scarves I made for my sister and Jette, I had to ask the recipients to take photos themselves. They obliged, and I finally got off my ass and resized the photos, so here’s the long-awaited Christmas Knitting, Part Two (I know you’ve been wringing your hands in anticipation).  The pattern is Just Enough Ruffles by Laura Chau, which both giftees requested specifically … it was The “It” Scarf this year, apparently.

This is the one I made for my sister. Yarn is Malabrigo worsted weight in Polar Morn.

And here’s the one I made for Jette out of Cascade Eco Duo in Almond Smoke. These pictures show what the reverse side of the scarf looks like.

While I’m at it, here are my first two FOs of 2011. First up is another scarf, a triangle with some purl rows interspersed among the stocking stitch for texture. I thought I made this up, but I found a couple of similar patterns on Ravelry, so apparently … I didn’t. As Elizabeth Zimmermann would have said, I unvented it.

Made from one skein of Malabrigo sock yarn in Tiziano Red.

And I finished the Baudelaires!

Pattern is by Cookie A, available free on Knitty. These are toe-up socks; I prefer top-down, usually, but this pattern was pretty fun. And they went really fast. The Yarn Harlot, Stephanie Pearl McPhee, says something in one of her books about how colorwork patterns seem to knit up faster than plain ones, even though they logically must take more time. That’s how I felt about these socks. The pattern wasn’t overly fiddly, but it was definitely more time consuming than just plain knitting. And yet, I finished these socks at what felt like warp speed.

Yarn is Louet Gems fingering weight in French Blue.

And finally, a look at the current WiPs lineup, because why not? This picture doesn’t represent the colors of the items very accurately, but them’s the breaks.

Clockwise from bottom left:

Obnoxious pink item is the Lettuce Leaf Scarf by Janice Lynn. Yarn is Knit Picks Shadow Tonal Lace Yarn in Summer Blooms colorway.

Partially finished sock is just that–a plain-ass sock, the first of what will be the 20th pair I’ve knit for my mom over the past few years. Yarn is Colinette Jitterbug in Sable.

Lavender socks are my second pair of Twinkleberries. Yarn is Knit Picks Stroll Tonal sock yarn in Blue Violet.

Big fuzzy green blob is the Aeolian shawl by Elizabeth Freeman, available on Knitty. I am madly in love with this pattern and am seriously considering knitting another when I’m done with this one. Yarn is Malabrigo lace weight in Olive, and it is an olivey green, not a foresty green like it looks here.

Smack in the middle is my first Vilai, from Sock Innovation by Cookie A. Yarn is Madelinetosh Tosh Sock in Oxblood, and it’s very, very pretty. I had initially used this yarn to start a plain sock while waiting with The Mister in urgent care, but I decided the yarn is interesting enough that it would look amazing in a pattern that uses biased stitches. So yesterday I frogged the Bad Juju Ear Infection Sock and I started the Vilais. Pattern promises to be very interesting and fun, if a bit of a pain in the ass, thanks to a “cable cross” that involves TWO cable needles.

Crafty people! What are YOU working on?

Published in: on January 16, 2011 at 11:53 am  Comments (6)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://princessfats.wordpress.com/2011/01/16/the-christmas-knitting-part-two-the-scarfening/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Oh my, what a bouquet of knitting lovelies! Your blue sockies really are a gorgeous pattern! You turn these works of art out at the speed of light!

  2. As you know, I’m working on nothing, but I wanted to say again how much I love my scarf. :-)

  3. Yay, lovelies! Your Baudelaires are perfect! I think I need a pair, actually…And the Aeolian shawl, squee! Can’t wait to see it’s progress.

    • Aw, thanks! I do recommend the Baudelaire pattern, it was lots of fun. May finish Aeolian this weekend … will post photos if I do! :D


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

