New Makeup Mania!

This post was really intended for yesterday. But then life intervened in the form of an ear infection for the Mister, a three-hour wait in urgent care, and another hour or so spent driving and filling prescriptions. He has learned a valuable lesson about, as the doctor put it, “not jamming shit in his ears.” Q-Tips are for EXTERNAL USE ONLY, people. Take it from us.

So after the trials and tribulations and craptastic sleep of yesterday, I thought I would take a little time today to play with my Christmas makeup some more. And what colors did I gravitate toward? Why, purples, of course!

I can’t help it! I’m exceedingly fond of purples! Especially pale, lilac-y purples like the ones I used today.

Products!

  • UDPP in Eden
  • MAC Digit all over lids
  • Urban Decay Purple Haze (the regular one, not the matte one … why they have two shadows with the same name, I’ll never understand) in crease
  • MAC Dazzlelight to highlight
  • UD 24/7 eyeliner in Rockstar on upper lids
  • Tarte multiplEYE Extend 3 mascara
  • Lorac Multiplex lip gloss in 3D

The mascara and the gloss came as part of a sampler thingy I got as a special offer from Sephora. I really like both of them. The mascara claims to be “clinically proven” to enhance lashes, and while I can’t confirm that, it does lengthen and thicken quite dramatically. I’m pretty impressed with it. And the gloss is INSANE. It’s multidimensional and incredibly glittery, but it’s definitely wearable, and the color is flattering and pretty. Plus it smells really good. It would be a nice nighttime “going out” gloss, I think. I didn’t manage to get any pictures that capture the level of sparkle or complexity. Boo on my crap photography!

Another item that came in that sampler set was Make Up For Ever Rouge Artist Intense lipstick in shade “WOW, That’s Frickin’ BRIGHT!!” I mean, shade 36. Um … I don’t really think it’s me.

It’s actually quite pretty, and surprisingly flattering considering how bright it is. It’s my first-ever MUFE product, and the formula is extremely nice. And it does coordinate well with the kick-ass Bell Jar t-shirt Jette got me for Christmas.

Too bad my necklace is flipped around in this photo. It was yet another Christmas gift, from my mom this time, and I love it. It looks more or less like this from the front, only more gray and less gold/green/whatever the hell color it seems to be reflecting here.

Ha ha! I just realized it’s reflecting my front window, curtains, and lawn.

So! Speaking of makeup, did anybody have a temporary bout of complete insanity this morning and drop $92 on the new Urban Decay 15th anniversary 24/7 eyeliner set the instant it became available online? Because, um, I may have. What? Do you think I have no self control or something? Well, you’re right! Much like Oscar Wilde, I can resist anything except temptation. Also like Oscar Wilde, I have nothing to declare but my genius, but that’s a whole other post.

Published in: on January 3, 2011 at 3:11 pm  Comments (18)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://princessfats.wordpress.com/2011/01/03/new-makeup-mania/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

18 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Love the look! Your liner looks great! I think you look awesome in the bright lipstick! And wow! $92 on the Urban Decay set!? Can’t wait to see what you think of it!

    • Thanks! And yeah, it wasn’t cheap, but I’m expecting it to both change my life and do my dishes. :P UD eyeliners are $17 a pop normally, so $92 for 15 of them is actually a really good deal.

  2. Yay, Bell Jar t-shirt! It looks great on you! And actually, I think you could rock the bright pink lipstick if you wanted to. It does suit you, it’s just whether you’d feel comfortable in it. And I’ll raise my hand for the UD eyeliner set…damn you, Principessa! BAAAAD influence. ;-)

  3. You’re gorgeous! and boo for ear infections!!

    • Aw, thanks! And boo is right! He’s not a very happy camper …

      • I had chronic ear infections (got them once or twice a year from I was three until.. well, last year, I guess?), so I feel his pain. :<

        • Oh, that sucks! He’s been really unhappy, I can only imagine how unpleasant it must be to have that kind of infection chronically :(

  4. I wish I could feel comfortable with that neutral makeup. I always feel awkward and out of place when doing makeup that neutral. And then you go and just superduper pull it off. /envy

    • I feel “awkward and out of place” when doing super-bright makeup! Dark is OK, but bright makes me feel … weird!

      • I agree with eplefe! I feel very awkward and naked with neutral makeup. Or, more specifically, I should say toned down eyeliner and mascara. Totally good with neutral eyeshadows. Just have to have some sort of drama there to offset it, apparently!

        • That’s very interesting! When I have bright or dramatic makeup on, I feel like I’m in costume or something. Oddly, I don’t feel that way about having dark eyeshadow on–but bright eyeshadow and dark or bright lipstick make me feel … odd. Like I’m in drag or something!

          • I’m the EXACT opposite. Give me a neutral shadow, and a MLBB-lipstick I’ll pretty much faint from the panic…

  5. I looooove this look! And that UD set is pretty sweet. I’m going to have to think long and hard over whether I need one for myself, or can just get by vicariously through you.

    • I had waffled and waffled on it, but the moment it became available, I seriously lost all higher brain function and ordered it immediately, zombie-like, barely conscious of what I was doing. Good times!

  6. Don’t use q-tips, people! I’m emphasizing your warning here. I have a degree in speech and hearing sciences, so for real, don’t.
    But, anyways, looks like a nice haul. I really like the bold lipstick on you. You have the complexion for it. It’s funny because I still think of bold lips as neutral if the eye makeup is played down. It’s “classic”.

    • That’s true, but aaaiiiieeee! It’s bright! The bright colors, they frighten me!

  7. […] and it’s very, very pretty. I had initially used this yarn to start a plain sock while waiting with The Mister in urgent care, but I decided the yarn is interesting enough that it would look amazing in a pattern that uses […]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

